Ohio’s Original Interscholastic Creative Writing Program for Middle Schools

Western Region

Including Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Logan, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, and Preble Counties

Regional Director:
Paula McWilliams

Registration is open to the first 20 schools that register. Register for one District event only.

Due to the pandemic, tournaments may need to take place virtually. When you register, you are agreeing to participate in the tournament whether it takes place in person or online.

Western District 1


Western District 2
West Carrollton Middle School
424 E Main St, West Carrollton, OH 45449
Date TBD
Coordinator: Lesley Mosher   

Qualifiers from both events will advance to the Western Ohio Regional Tournament at

Wittenberg University
Weaver Chapel, 4 E. Campus Drive, Springfield, OH 45504

on Date TBD
Paula McWilliams

Who's Going

District 1: TBD

20 positions available

District 2: West Carrollton

20 positions available

Paula McWilliams

Paula is a retired classroom teacher from St. Matthew the Apostle Catholic School in Gahanna. She most recently taught 6th and 7th grade social studies, but previously spent 20 years teaching 6th grade ELA.

Paula began her association with Power of the Pen 20 years ago as a team coach, a role that that still brings joy and excitement. She also has worked as a computer tabulator for many years at tournaments throughout the state as well as performing in that capacity at several state tournaments.

Other school responsibilities included being the coordinator for the school spelling bee and coaching students for the school speech competition.

Paula earned Bachelor of Arts in Journalism/Public Relations and Masters in Education degrees from Ohio State University.

Paula is affiliated with People to People International  Travel, and has spent the last fourteen years introducing students to foreign cultures all over the world. She also enjoys watching sports, sewing, cooking, photography, and spending time with her family. She lives with her husband, Bill, in Hebron, Ohio.

Power of the Pen
PO Box 442  |  Richfield, Ohio 44286

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software