Ohio’s Original Interscholastic Creative Writing Program for Middle Schools

Northwest Region

Includes Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hardin, Hancock, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Shelby, Williams, Wood, Wyandot, Van Wert Counties   

Regional Director: 
Polly Walters

Registration is open to the first 20 schools that register. Register for one District event only.

Northwest District 1
Saturday, January 29, 2022
St. Marys Middle School
2250 State Route 66N
St. Marys, OH 45885

Coordinator: Angie Woods


Northwest District 2
Saturday, February 5, 2022
Tiffin Middle School
103 Shephard Drive
Tiffin, OH 44883
Coordinator: Sara Conner   

Qualifiers from both events will advance to the Northwest Ohio Regional Tournament at:

Lourdes University
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
6832 Convent Blvd
Sylvania, Ohio 43560
Coordinator: Anna-Marie Adamson   

Who’s Going

Northwest District 1:
St. Marys Middle School

20 positions available

Northwest District 2:
Tiffin Middle School

20 positions available

Polly Walters

Beginning in 1995, Polly has served as a Power of the Pen Team Coach, District and Regional Host, Tab Room Supervisor, Computer Operator, and State Committee Member. In addition, she designed the District and Regional Tab Room Supervisor Manual and has led trainings for Tab Room Supervisors.

Her accomplishments include Power of the Pen Dedication Award (1996), St. Marys City School’s Faculty Leadership Award (1999, 2002), Amerihost Inn’s Teacher of the Year Award (2002), Power of the Pen Outstanding Teacher Award (2003), and Martha Holden Jennings Scholar (2004).

Polly is a full-time teacher in Northwest Ohio, and loves to bake, read and practice Yoga. She and her husband Rick live in Lima, Ohio.

Power of the Pen
PO Box 2640  |  North Canton, Ohio 44720

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software