Ohio’s Original Interscholastic Creative Writing Program for Middle Schools

Southwest Region

Including Adams, Baker, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Fayette, Gallia, Hamilton, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Warren Counties

Regional Director:
Jenn Sauvey    

Registration is open to the first 20 schools that register. Register for one District event only.

Southwest District 1
Saturday, January 8, 2022

Wyoming Middle School
17 Wyoming Ave
Wyoming, OH 45215
Coordinator: Jenn Sauvey


Southwest District 2
Saturday, February 5, 2022
Little Miami Middle School
5290 Morrow Cozaddale Rd
Morrow, OH 45152
Coordinator: Erin Dipzinski  

Qualifiers from both events will advance to the Southwest Ohio Regional Tournament at:

Cincinnati Country Day School
Saturday, March 5, 2022
6905 Given Road
Cincinnati, OH 45243
Coordinator: Emily DiMatteo

Who's Going

Southwest District 1:
Wyoming Middle School

Cardinal Pacelli School

St. Gertrude School

Saint James School

The Seven Hills School

Summit Country Day School

Wyoming Middle School

14 positions available

Southwest District 2:
Little Miami Middle School

Cincinnati Country Day School

Lebanon Christian School

Lebanon Junior High School

Little Miami Middle School

Mariemont Junior High School

Mason Middle School

Monroe Junior High School

White Oak Middle School

12 positions available

Jenn Sauvey

Since 1998, Jenn Sauvey has been learning alongside seventh graders as they grow into lifelong readers and writers in her classroom at Wyoming Middle School. For the past 20 years, she has also found immense joy in coaching creative writers through the Power of the Pen program. Helping middle schoolers find their voices in a community of peers who share a love of language and storytelling is absolutely the highlight of every school year. In addition to her role as a coach and judge, Jenn has served as a regional tournament coordinator and a state building monitor.

When she is not in her classroom, Jenn enjoys cooking, eating, reading, gardening, walking, theater, listening to podcasts, and spending time with her spunky pup, Georgie (named for her two favorite Georges – Bailey of It's a Wonderful Life and Harrison of The Beatles). She currently lives near Cincinnati in Wyoming, Ohio.

Power of the Pen
PO Box 2640  |  North Canton, Ohio 44720

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software