Ohio’s Original Interscholastic Creative Writing Program for Middle Schools

Eastern Region

Including Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Mahoning, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Stark, Tuscarawas, and Washington Counties

Regional Director:
Julie Lyberger
(330) 352-5529

Registration is open to the first 20 schools that register. Register for one District event only.

District and regional tournaments are online in 2021-2022. Host schools provide support for tournaments, but events do not take place at the host school.

Eastern District 1

Saturday, January 22, 2022

Hosted by:

University of Mount Union
Coordinator: Julie Lyberger

The Mt. Union tournament has reached capacity. Please register for Northeast Ohio IMPACT Academy.


Eastern District 2
Saturday, January 29, 2022 

Hosted by:

Northeast Ohio IMPACT Academy
Coordinator: Kent Polen  

Qualifiers from both events will advance to the Eastern Ohio Regional Tournament virtually hosted by:

Lake Elementary
February 26, 2022
Coordinator: Julie Lyberger     julie@powerofthepen.org
(330) 352-5529

Who's Going

Eastern District 1:

University of Mount Union  

East Canton Middle School
Fairless Middle School
Indian Valley Middle School

Massillon City Middle School

Canton Country Day School

Edison Middle School

Alliance Middle School

Brown Local/Malvern Middle School

Oakwood Middle School

St. Michael School

St. Joan of Arc School

Jackson Middle School

Marlington Middle School

Tuslaw Middle School

St. Mary's, Massillon

Tuscarawas Central Catholic

Saint Mary Catholic, Marietta

Lisbon David Anderson

West Branch Middle School

Lordstown High School

The Mt. Union tournament has reached capacity. Please register for Northeast Ohio IMPACT Academy.

Eastern District 2:
Northeast Ohio IMPACT Academy

South Range Middle School

Canfield Village Middle School

Claymont Middle School

Dover Middle School

Northwest Middle School

Northeast Ohio IMPACT Academy

Louisville Middle School

LaBrae Middle School

Lincoln Middle School

Holy Family School

Wedgewood Middle School

Hillsdale Middle School

Strasburg-Franklin Local Schools

Tuscarawas Valley Middle School

Marietta High School

Julie Lyberger

Julie Lyberger is currently the Board President of Power of the Pen and is an administrator for Lake Local Schools in Hartville. Julie is in her 34th year in education. She holds a BA in Education from the University of Akron, and masters degrees in Educational Leadership and Administration from Kent State University.

Julie has been working with POP for 23 years, starting as a coach and host of a district tournament while teaching 7th grade language arts at Lake Local Schools. For the last 10 years she has served on the State Committee in various leadership roles: district host school and tab room coordinator, regional tab room coordinator, state building monitor coordinator, as well as serving as Secretary and currently Vice President of the State Committee.

Julie enjoys training and mentoring tab room coordinators and working with coaches and writers to get the most out of the Power of the Pen experience.

Power of the Pen
PO Box 2640  |  North Canton, Ohio 44720

Support has been provided by Ohio Humanities, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software