Ohio’s Original Interscholastic Creative Writing Program for Middle Schools

Power of the Pen Presents State Awards

Friday, June 05, 2020 7:00 PM | Anonymous

Author Margaret Peterson Haddix, poet George Bilgere, and Power of the Pen alum and television writer Sage Boggs honored Power of the Pen writers for our annual state awards ceremony, held virtually due to the pandemic. 

Of the thousands of middle school students who write with Power of the Pen each year, the winners of the state awards have achieved an extraordinary level of excellence. Power of the Pen annually awards State honors to young authors whose writing stands out for its powerful connection with readers.

Read the creative works of these 2020 state winners by clicking the links:

Paige Galperin, Kimpton Middle School, Promising Young Talent Award

Sun-Hee Smith, St. Bernadette School, Humor Award

Annie Johnson, John Sells Middle School, and Marie Kanzinger, Chagrin Falls Middle School, Powerful Pen Award

Poetry Award Winners are:

Anna Blasinski, Dr. Henry Karrer Middle School, First Place

Zoe Stiefel, Shaker Heights Middle School, Second Place

Allison Krzywicki, North Royalton Middle School, Honorable Mention

Audra Lozina, Hudson Middle School, Honorable Mention

Power of the Pen
PO Box 2640  |  North Canton, Ohio 44720

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software